Beijing beginnings

IMG_20160825_184322_resized_20160826_043618196.jpg

It’s been just over two weeks since I’ve come to Beijing and I can’t believe we’ve managed to 办so many事’s. Unfortunately the domain of my blog seems to be one of the many sites blocked in China (shout-out to the people who I see reading my posts from within China…I see you👀), which is why this post is coming to you later than I had planned. I’ll leave it at that for now but this does tie in well with my previous post~

Whilst I’ve travelled a lot in the past (within the UK and to other countries) there’s usually been at least one ‘adult’ figure travelling with me, so this was my first time taking a flight on my own. But China is only around the corner, right?

Our course can seem a bit strange for many reasons. It’s very independent in that you have to book a plane ticket and organise your own accommodation etc. Whilst it may seem like this is because it’s an Oxford course, this seems to be unique to Chinese Studies o-o 好奇怪 For the first few nights a few of us stayed at a hostel we booked in England prior to arriving. It wasn’t amazing, but it also wasn’t bad. For one night there was a complication with my booking and due to that I can now at least say that I’ve experienced what living in a Chinese dorm would be like. I’ll leave it open to your imagination😉

Every year a handbook of ‘Studying at Beida’ is given to students at the end of first year before embarking on their Year Abroad. The year above has the task of editing the handbook with details that may have changed each year and I think I will put forward a note to warn that there will be a lot of walking. We walked a lot during the first week especially, but I guess its good it was before the health-check…

On our first night we went out to have dinner with the rest of our classmates who had also arrived in Beijing. Perhaps the restaurant we went to had a busy day because the waiter kept returning to our table to let us know that a meal we ordered had sold out. Most of our food eventually arrived and it was quite nice, but quite an interesting experience for most of us xD I think the waiters were equally confused since we ordered singular meals as it’s common to share dishes in China.

The first few days involved looking at apartments, looking for banks and 找到-ing Western Union for classmates to withdraw money, and then withdrawing the maximum from ATMs to save up for our initial instalment of rent. Due to all of this money business I had to restrict my purchases, but I recently went shopping with a friend from Oxford who came to Beijing^^ I also went to the ‘Electronic City’ in last week with a classmate to check out things like phone-cases (although all the nice ones seem to be for Iphones -.-). I hope to explore that area more since it’s nearby to 北大附中 – The Affiliated High school of Peking University, which is where I stayed last time I came to Beijing. –Btw we’ve now rented a penthouse apartment!

What else has happened? I turned a water canister into a recycling bin using a cleaver, a craft knife and a lighter. I was offered a job by a woman who was impressed with my Chinese sounding ‘like a Beijing person’ and subsequently met her daughter the next day to teach her English. A lot of cool things happened that day (I got to see Qinghua University which is to Beida how Cambrige is to Oxford) but I don’t plan to continue with that particular job. We registered our residency at a Police Station, and we plan to register at Beida as soon as possible. We have Collections taking place fairly soon (Oxford termly assessments)…which is just cruel T.T

I’ve also been speaking a lot of Chinese, which is great fun! I engage best with spoken elements of a language and speaking Mandarin has always been my favorite part of learning Chinese. The rest if my class prefer the written element of our course like our history paper the ‘East Asia Survey’ and practicing written Chinese. However I’ve been trying to create a lot of opportunities to practice my spoken Chinese like in Taxis for instance and I’m grateful to have been complimented on it quite a bit^^ People have been telling me to make vlogs (video logs) with my new camera and so it’s something I’ve been considering. My flat mates also told me I should start a blog about fashion or photography but I’m not so sure 😅 I’ve been told to make vlogs and a fashion blog in the past, but we’ll see *害羞*

IMG_20160829_090325_resized_20160829_015410578.jpg

Another interesting thing that happened was our health checks. It seems like people staying in China for a long duration are required to take part on a health examination. A friend of mine who is doing an internship in Beijing over summer was required to do a health check aswell. It was quite strange and parts of it definitely were not accurate. We took a taxi to the center (we got there an hour early😴) and filled in a form, once that was given in we went into different rooms divided between two floors in which different examinations were set up. We had a blood test, x-ray, ‘eye test’ (the doctor just pointed at a letter on a board and let us walk off once we immediately identified it), ECG and more. All of this for £40~ But at least I now know my blood type!

The theme of the day (that I originally wrote this at least) is probably otherness and optimism. As I’ve mentioned before I’m on the team of the ‘glass being half full’ and so whilst there may have been stresses about things like adjusting to our new life I’ve been reminding myself and others of how far we’ve come and that we needn’t worry about things that are out of our control so long as we continue trying our best. Also people have rightly been a bit self conscious for sticking out as a foreigner, which brings me on to the theme of otherness. Personally I don’t find it a big 问题 since I’ve pretty much always been different, but I have been asked things like ‘你是哪国人’ (where are you from) a lot more than my classmates, and have had a lot of questions about my headscarf and religion. It can be awkward depending on the situation but I see it as pursing my duty to educate people about a curiosity sparked from lack of opportunity to experience other cultures. -Although I have seen quite a few Muslim women wearing headscarves since being here~ During the taxi ride from the health check our 司机 asked about my scarf and why my friend in the backseat wasn’t wearing one as well despite her being British like myself. He was in disbelief when I simply said that it’s because we’re different people. Adamant as he was and also curious as to whether my dad wears one as well as my mother (a headscarf is only worn my women but the concept of the hijab of general modesty applies to both gender, fyi), to which I asked if he was ‘the same’ as the man in the car ahead of us since he was presumably Chinese. He claimed that he was because they both had black hair -.- but sometimes you cant win. My point is that no two people are exactly the same and that’s amazing. Your differences make you as unique as your fingerprint, so embrace them ^-^ A quote that came to mind today is that you should be yourself, since everyone else is already taken~ Ameen.

A lot has happened since we’ve been here, and whilst it’s nice being occupied it sort of makes you feel like you’re losing your head sometimes. On a side note I’m quite pleased with how my writing style has been progressing. It fluctuates along with my general progression, but that’s kind of like growing up, and lately I’ve felt more and more like an adult.

If you have moved to another continent and have to be an adult, good luck 世界。

此致敬礼欣妍 – From Xinyan.

Also I’ve just uploaded a similar post written in 简体字 Chinese, check it out here if you want to try reading it!~

Leave a Reply

