Lost my voice

我的说去那? … I’ve learnt from that and moved on.

I found the picture that I’ve posted below while I was going through a folder of some photos from my friends in China. What I remember is that my voice was not in its best condition at the time and I had sort of lost my voice. I cannot remember if the picture that I drew was prompted by a request for an audio message, but it seems likely in my mind. What I had to do as a result of my ‘lost voice’ was translate the message into Chinese. This proved to be a difficult task. If I were to relay the message now I would have improved my translation due to the expansion of my vocabulary, but to be honest I’m still a little stumped. However I don’t feel bad about that because I showed my former Chinese teacher the picture that I drew to ask for his translation…and he was stumped too. You may be wondering why I’m sharing this as it does appear to be slightly out of the blue; but the reason is to show that communication has various forms. During exams we are told that both verbal and non-verbal communication will get you disqualified, just like a simple shrug of the shoulders could communication a feeling of confusion, or frantically waving your arms could be an indication of imminent danger; at times one of the most basic forms of communication that we may come to rely on is drawing.

voicegonenz

I have adjusted the quality of the picture but I cannot remember if that was the final drawing. As you can see that is as basic as a drawing can get (-stick people) but having to communicate the idea that I had lost my voice was an amusing scenario so don’t be fast to judge me here.

Translations: The writing in the first box says ‘This is me’. The second reads as ‘My speak…go where?’ And lastly in the third box ‘I do not have speak’.

嘿嘿 (you can translate that in a search engine if you’re curious). The character 说 that I had used in my desperate comic can be translated to say, speak, tell or talk. None of those options quite fit what I was trying to say. Thankfully the fact that I am able to spot the mistakes in those short lines shows that I have improved. For example, now I would at least say rectify the second box and change the text to ‘’我的声音去哪里’’ (wǒ de sheng yīn qù nǎ lǐ) which is a more accurate translation of asking ‘where is my sound?’, or “我丢了我的声音” which literally means “I lost my voice”.

Hopefully you shall not lose your voice and become as frantic as my stick woman who was subsequently led to despair.

If you ever have problems with a language barrier (quite likely to happen) 我说 good luck 世界 (嘿嘿).

从欣妍 – From Xinyan

Leave a Reply

